one woman's journey to a new life

a girl, a year, a hundred pounds to lose … and everything to gain

well, it’s a start June 22, 2012

Filed under: weight check in,welcome — martiikuznicki @ 4:31 am

i should start at the beginning, yeah?

i, am a fat girl. yep. that’s it. i’m a fat girl. and for most of my life- since i’ve always been a fat girl, i’ve been okay with that. i’ve spent thirty-six years being okay with being that girl: i’ve got friends, i’ve got a husband, i’ve got everything i could ever want.

and i’ve got high blood pressure and diabetes.

in a conversation with my therapist and my general practitioner,  we’ve come to an agreement. while all three of us agree i’m doing well- i need to do better. so i made a bet of sorts with my doctor: by july 1, 2013, i want to lose 100 pounds. even at 100 pounds lighter, i’ll still be overweight, but it’s a healthier (and hopefully happier) me.

so here we are. my journey starts today.

my plan for this blog is several fold: it’ll keep me accountable. it’ll keep me mindful of what i’m eating, what i’m doing. it’ll hopefully motivate others on their journey- whether it’s 15 lbs or 50 lbs. periodically, i’ll be posting updates that have my weight, and recipes. i can’t promise the updates will always be interesting… in fact, i’m pretty sure there will be plenty of whining, especially here at the start- because i know me, and i know i’m going to WHINE about not being able to drink a coke, or a diet coke, or eat some ice cream.

but it’s a journey.

6.21.2012 — 352 lbs

one step at a time.

 

18 Responses to “well, it’s a start”

  1. Gary Says:

    Martii!!! That’s awesome! I just started working out after not working out since last summer! Enough about me though. Yo. You can do this! Quitting drinking pop will make a huge difference! Go ahead and slip one in once in a while though. Stay mindful and good luck!!!

  2. Maggie Says:

    I’m expecting this to be fantastic darling… this is for you… but it’s also for Matt, for me, and for the rest of us that love you! We need you around a long time!

  3. tweetersweet Says:

    THIS IS AWESOME! :: Hugs::

  4. fatgirlvsskinnyjeans Says:

    We can do this!!! We are all going to whine and complain…but it’ll be worth it in the end. 😀

  5. Tamekia Says:

    You can do it honey!!! I believe in you and so does the rest of your sisters!!!

  6. Beckynicky Says:

    I am super excited about this! It does become easier and it does make a difference in so much. Let me know what you doing so I can do it with you!

  7. Elle (Laura) Says:

    This is great! You have my support 110%! Anytime you need to whine….go for it! I know how hard it is as I am on the same journey and struggle every day. I look forward to reading your posts and maybe I should start my own blog…..it just may help me.

  8. Bee Says:

    You are strong, you are beautiful and you Inspire me!

  9. Laura Says:

    ❤ love you

  10. OhhhShenanigans Says:

    I am so effing proud of you.

  11. Maria Says:

    Oh girl, I just set a goal of 92 lbs lost by 7/1/2013. Shall we do it together? xoxo

  12. Nori Says:

    I so need to be joining you on this journey, babe! SO proud of you!

  13. muffin Says:

    You are wonderful. I know you can do it 🙂 We can go on walking dates if you like 🙂

  14. Cheryl Snodgrass Says:

    Love it, my girl. I’m feeling a little motivated already! I can’t wait to follow your success (and the sardonic way you will attack the obstacles). Go git it!

  15. Jbinderfish Says:

    I’m super excited for you! You can do this- I’m loving your motivation. I’m sending my love and confidence your way! Don’t be afraid to call, I’m quitting smoking we can help each other! You inspire me!!!!!

  16. Frankielicious Says:

    im sooo proud of you girle!!!!! : just do it!!!!!! i know u can!

  17. Janine Says:

    HUGS-you can do this, girl!


Leave a Reply

