one woman's journey to a new life

a girl, a year, a hundred pounds to lose … and everything to gain

And now, a few words from an expert June 24, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — martiikuznicki @ 2:57 am
Tags:

so my father is also diabetic. he has been for well over twenty years- but in the last, oh, five or so years- his blood sugars have gotten a little uncontrollable. after going back and forth with several of his GPs, the newest one really wanted him to go and see an endocrine doctor – so that’s how i spent the bulk of my yesterday.

i really liked the doctor. as a fat girl, it’s been my experience that a lot of doctors have little to no patience for obese patients. they figure we’re on our way to “killing” ourselves, so why should they bother – but this doctor was different. while he wasn’t sweet talking or sugar-coating things, he wasn’t writing anyone any sort of ultimatums.

anyway- he gave my dad a list of foods he should stop eating, foods he needs to moderate and just a few general hints. so i’m going to share them with you.

 

STOP EATING THESE THINGS

you should see all kinds of red lights when you see these foods. and it’s not going to be easy.

1. Soda Pop. not the diet stuff – even dr ruestow said that while it’s not the best, it’s the full sugar stuff that’ll kill you. while i’m trying not to drink soda in general… man sometimes you just need the taste of an awesome diet dr pepper.

2. Fruit Juice. think about it. if you’ve ever squeezed your own juice, you know that it’s like 2389847318726 oranges (or, you know, 6 or 7) to get enough juice to make it useful. just think about how many oranges are in that glass of juice. then just  eat the orange.

3. Sweets. its the no-brainer, we know sweets are bad. but so tasty. so. so. tasty. /digress

4. Bagels & Muffins. they’re good. they even look healthy. but they lie. they’re so dense packed full of carby goodness… you should just avoid them.

5. Chips (of all kinds, including pretzels). once you start, you can’t stop. so you probably shouldn’t.

6. Popcorn. now this one is hard for me. i LOVE popcorn. i could eat it every day, for every meal. but… it’s all carbs. so it’s probably a bad idea.

7. Pizza. one slice of pizza has something like 750 calories. and when was the last time you ate ONE slice of pizza. [if you’re me, it’s a half pizza, easy]

 

YELLOW LIGHT FOODS

one with each meal. yes, just one. yes, i know that sounds ridiculous but trust me.

Bread. Rice. Potatoes. Pasta. Cereal. Oatmeal.

 

PORTIONS

a portion of bread is one slice. this is heartbreaking to me, because i love bread. we’re eastern european- what the hell did you expect. bread is a staple. but… alas, my love affair with baguettes and goat cheese in mass quantities on the regular has to come to an end.

for cereal and oatmeal – just read the box. they’re not kidding when they tell you what a portion is.

potatoes, rice, pasta – the portion should be no bigger than your fist. here is where i wish i was the hulk.

 

and finally

SNACKS

eat them. be mindful, but eat them. stick to fresh fruit (NOT DRIED) and nuts (NOT SALTED).

 

9 Responses to “And now, a few words from an expert”

  1. Leslie Says:

    Excellent list. Soda is going to be difficult 😦 And restricting pasta. It’s great you went to see him and that he laid it out straight. My doctor doesn’t have patience with me either. Love this!

  2. muffin Says:

    I need to print this out and carry it with me everywhere I go. Also, I love you.

  3. OhhhShenanigans Says:

    All very good tips!! You’re well on your way!

  4. Maggie Says:

    Well, I can attest that once you are off regular pop for good, you can’t go back. Regular pop and really sugary things give me awful headaches, and make me really dehydrated. Pizza is the hard one for me, and bagels… I’m trying to really cut down on carbs too, and if I do eat a carb, try to make in whole grain or your know (brown). If you stay within this realm though, pounds should start falling off.

  5. Beckynicky Says:

    I think that is a fabulous list. I do the Bagel Thins or whole wheat bagels but I am expecting to have a lot of carbs for breakfast (must not kill the children and need energy to do that). And I am such a huge fan of the snacks. I honestly believe it is what makes me lose my weight and what makes the PCOS manageable

  6. kathy Says:

    i couldnt agree more with those points of “no foods”. I cut out pop, carbs, sugars and just controlled my portions- and that my love is like a magical pill that just burns fat

  7. Woody Says:

    It can be hard to quit everything you love all at once…when I was 300 lbs I knew I couldn’t do that so I made gradual changes via “9 Weeks to a perfect diet” (http://www.cspinet.org/nutrition/9weeks.htm). It took me a year to lose the 100 lbs, but four years later I’ve still kept it off. I also did yoga 3x a week and made eating breakfast a priority (kickstarts the metabolism for the day). Good luck, it seems your head is in the right place and I think you are going to be successful!

  8. Janine Says:

    Totally agree with the comment of not being able to drink regular soda anymore. The sugar is too much, and it just doesn’t taste good anymore. I try to keep fruit or veggies at work or home for snacking. Great tips, thanks for sharing them!

  9. Kaytee Bole Says:

    If you pop your own popcorn, it is a good source of whole grains and provides a good amount of fiber. Otherwise, agreed.


Leave a Reply

