one woman's journey to a new life

a girl, a year, a hundred pounds to lose … and everything to gain

apathetic girl is winning July 9, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — martiikuznicki @ 3:15 am

today was apathy day.

i couldn’t blame it on the weather- after days and days of triple degree heat, it was nice today. i was just…lazy. i’m really tired, although i’m not sure why  just having problems with motivation in general. i did get up and take the dog on a short walk- after much poking and prodding- but that was it. i read two books.  i ate okay – under calories and all of that, but i didn’t do anything.

so here’s where i ask for suggestions:

what do you do when you’re unmotivated…

 

4 Responses to “apathetic girl is winning”

  1. Leslie Says:

    If I’m really unmotivated and have to work out, I put everything on: my HRM, my armband for my phone/music, and my shoes. It’s like you have to go then. I read that on a Tumblr post and it’s helped me. Honestly, for me, it’s the shoes. I hate wearing shoes, so they start bothering me, so I workout so I can take them off faster lol!

    Just think “This crap sucks. I’m going to hurt. I’ll be sore. But I’m Martii, and I am awesome and I will live longer because of the choices I make now.”

  2. Beckynicky Says:

    I have some things that I can do that require limited motivation because once I do a small thing, I am much more likely to do bigger things. I sometimes I just walk around the house and do things and since I am all ready moving, I am more likely to go for a walk. Sometimes I just walk in place while I watch tv so I still feel like I am getting to do what I want and at the same time I am getting SOMETHING in and if I have learned anything, it is that something beats nothing.

  3. MANDY! Says:

    You cant do it all the time, but you have to give yourself lazy days and screw ups. Sometimes they happen. If you get down on yourself, you spiral into “Well, today sucked, yesterday sucked, tomorrow might as well suck too”…thats how I am, at least. Stay accountable for it too. Admit your rough day and move on, no need for punishment.

    I’m proud of you for starting this journey, that’s half the battle. I can’t even get there.

  4. Lana Says:

    Even though I feel unmotivated, I definitely push myself. In my mind, I know I’m paying for the gym membership, I’m paying for the personal training and so I feel that if I don’t go and, at least, do 45 minutes of a workout, I feel like I’m wasting my money. And because I’m still struggling financially from time to time, my money is important to me. So I feel like I’m losing my money. It’s probably a terrible way to look at it, but that’s what initially works. Something else that’s a motivator is the fact that I’ve become friends with my trainer and when I don’t do anything, I almost feel like I’m letting them down, as well as letting down myself and one thing I hate is letting down a friend. So, there’s always that, too. Honestly, I have to push myself (and push hard) through my unmotivated moments. Now, you ARE allowed those days every once in a while but as long as you don’t make it a habit? then you’re ok. I’m proud of you, chica. very proud.


Leave a Reply

